Teenage life


Once, we’ve all been a teenager. For some it was one of the most beautiful, happiest, adventurous periods of life. For some it was a time full of horror and disappointments. And there’s nothing you can do about it. But other’s find the way youthto make it better. Yes, they find the way to change their teenage life for the better. On some level, movie “Youth in revolt” is exactly about that.

Somehow, in a certain period of adolescence, the biggest issue becomes sex. Yes, boys and girls are growing up, mature, and the hormones start to wild. But that’s not what I’m trying to say. I’ll explain my thoughts using this movie as example.

Not all teenagers are popular at schools, not all teenagers are successful at things like sports, not all teenagers are venturesome. Some are shy, calm, closed personalities. it’s not bad, we all are different. But those teenagers, who aren’t shy, try new things way faster than the other ones. So, the main character Nick (Michael Cera), who is shy, is really obsessed about sex and how to loose his virginity. So, let’s stop here and take a look why sex becomes an issue here.

For shy people it is harder to find a girlfriend/boyfriend. And then your hormones makes you to want have sex. And there also seems that everyone around you are having sex: mom with her new boyfriend, dad with his way younger girlfriend in a bikini, people at school ( these are examples taken from the movie). So, it seems like you MUST do it too, because everybody are doing it. Really?

Sure, if you really want it and you feel, that you’re ready. Nope, if none of the mentioned in the last sentence is exists. I mean it’s like, if everyone is jumping from the bridge to kill themselves, it doesn’t mean you have to do it. Same thing works for sex. What’s the point of loosing virginity when you’re not ready, disappointing in it, just because someone said it’s a must to do it at certain age?

Let’s get back to Nick.  Nick finally meets a girl, that he really likes – Sheeni (Portia Doubleday). And somewhere around this part of the movie, happens something… strange. Nick creates his “Other Me” – François Dillinger. A completely revoltopposite personality to Nick. I don’t know why this idea was taken, it’s weird.

OK, having another you, or double life isn’t a rare thing. But I don’t know what’s cool about stealing a car, setting restaurant on fire, just to get back to the girl you love? Especially when all those things does you other you, but not you?

Sure, maybe creators thought that it’s pretty awesome to show how teenagers try to become coller than they really are, so they they could do certain things. I don’t know. Somewhy I did not like this idea. Honestly, I didn’t really like the entire movie. I felt the lack of vitality in the main character. Sure, you can play a looser, but why does he have to be so spiritless? It’s like, it’s hard for him to talk, to walk, to be around his family, but it’s OK for him to please himself at night.

But I’ll be nice and I will mention a few good things about the movie.

1. Actors. The cast was pretty cool: Ray Liotta, Zach Galifianakis, Rooney Mara, Steve Buscemi. I can’t say anything bad about these guys as an actors.

2. Critical reviews. I’ve read some reviews about this film on the Interenet, just out of curiosity. And you know, they were actually pretty good. Some say that the movie is fantastic, some say that its jokes are very intellectual.

So, the fact that Ididn’t like it, doesn’t mean it’s a bad film. The problem might be in me, Maybe I’m not smart enough to understand the greatness of this movie. But I am who I am. I can’t pretend this is the best movie I’ve ever seen or that I liked it. I didn’t. That’s the true. And another true thing is, that I don’t know what else I could say about “Yoth in revolt”. So, I’ll just stop writing and end up this post :).

Leave a Reply

